It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation

As the scale of city area increasingly enlarge, people must take long time in traffic, whatever by public transportation or by car. My friend Jack, always complain to me that he need to take 1-hour subway to corporation, which is intolerable. Thus, many workers suggest the government to improve the city's public transportation, such as subway, bus, and taxi, in order to shorten their time of commute. I, however, insist that the improvement of Internet access is been urgently needed.

Firstly, the improvement of Internet access can empower us in our working aspect. To begin with, the Internet can make my work be efficiency. As a software engineer, I need to code a project with others at the same time, we need Internet access to finish our work, or we must code and check by ourselves. Besides, many companies, such as Apple and Google, have claimed that their employees can work from home during the COVID-19. So, with the Internet access, employees can decide where they will work in. What is more, if the company do not allow me work from home, and my commute time is long, I can watch movies or listen to music during the commute time. Even I can open my laptop, starting my office time anywhere. On the contrary, even if the public transportation is improved, and my commute time is shortened, I can not do anything without Internet.

Secondly, we can improve our life quality through the development of Internet. If I want to play video games with my friends, I can get in touch with them by telegram online, then play together online, too. Without gathering my friends to my house, I can freely and conveniently do anything that I want online. Also, I can save my time through the Online service. Take myself as an example. Once I decided to look for a cleaner to clean my house. However, I lived in a small town and there only one agency that can help me to looking for such service. I took several hours to drive to the agency but they told to me that all I need to do was to open my browser and fill in my information in their platform. I learned that I could take many services online, and I always asks for food delivery online. I save my time for exercising, which improves my fitness.

In conclusion, with the Internet access, we can make our work more efficacy, improve our life quality. Also, we can solve the problem that we can not stand the boring during our commute time. Given that there is not any cellular data available in many rural area and subway, Internet access is in highly needed.