it is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Stating that it is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends, the speaker asserts that maintenance relationships with old friends is more beneficial than making new friends. Of course, it is undeniable that old friends are important our life because they can give a valuable advice with deeply understandings about us. From my viewpoint, however, only emphasizing the merit of keeping old friends, the speaker ignores several advantages of making a relationship with new people.

To begin, in general, common sense tells us that several experiences to meet new people and make new friends are valuable to a successful life of anyone who is a member of a society. When it comes to modern society where there is no task can be done by a single person, those experiences are valuable because it plays a vital role in the improvement of social skills, which are necessary qualifications to modern people. For instance, my father’s, an engineering researcher with 40 years’ experience, he informed us that when he started his career, he had problems in communications with his coworkers and boss, and it had a severe negative influence on doing his task. Thus, he recognized the importance of making relationships with new people in his workplace, he tried to make new friends at his workplace and it resulted to improve his social skills, thus he solved the problems. This example shows us that making new friends is more necessary thing than maintaining old friends because it can help us develop social skills.

Further, there is another merit of making new friends that it allows us enlarge our horizons. With regard to students who have naïve and shorted sight, through making new friends, they can learn many things which plays a vital role in expanding their horizons because the new friends have diversified interesting issues and knowledge. In other wise, only focusing a relationship with old friends, it is able to prevent them from having well-grounded knowledge caused by their naïve sights. My personal experience can be a reliable evidence to prove this my view. When I was a university student, a mechanical engineering student, I had to decide detailed majors between diversified several areas in mechanical engineering such as thermal dynamics, material dynamics, or electronic dynamics. At this time, I was not insightful and did not have well-grounded knowledge about these areas, thus I asked students who had same major with me to get information about the majors. In this process, I made many friends and it made me enlarge my horizon and I was able to select my detailed major correctly. This example reveals that making new friends helps us providing a chance to improve our horizons.

To sum, despite of the merit of keeping old friends, both the importance of social skills to succeed for modern people and the advantage to enlarge our horizons caused by new friends tell us that having new friends are advantageous. Thus, I cannot fully agree the concept that keeping old friends has more advantages than making new friends has.