It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Friends are indispensable in every person’s life. Some friendships last for a long time while others do not. In my opinion, it is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends because of 3 main reasons:

First, old friends are the ones closer to you, therefore they are more trustworthy. In other word, having an old friend, a person can share his secrets without hesitation, because he knows that he can believe in that old friend. As for me, I always share my stories to my best friends and he also shares his – that’s because we believe in each other. On the other hand, new friends aren’t as trustworthy; because you not that important to them, they might tell others your secret and disappoint you.

Second, an old friend understand you more than new friends. Playing with you for a long time, he must have known your strengths and weaknesses, therefore, he will help you improve your strengths and lessen your weaknesses. For instance, my best friend Minh was always complaining about me biting my nail, he told me that it would make bad impression to others; and now, thanks to him, I have given up that bad habit. At the other end of the scale, new friends take time to understand you and they might be shy to talk about your weaknesses; thus, they are less likely to help you improve yourself.

Finally, “a friend in need is a friend indeed”, when you are having problems, old friends are the one who are willing to help you. One time, I lost my wallet in the classroom and have to stay at the class to find it. At the time, all of my classmates went home except Duy (I have known him for 6 years), he stay at the class for 1 hour and help me find my wallet. Furthermore, when I’m short of money, he is always willing to lend me his money.

In conclusion, keeping old friends is more important than making new friends because of 3 above – mentioned reasons. There’s a trend on the internet finding things that are “Old but gold”, and I believe old friends should be listed.