Governments should not invest in funding public libraries as computers could fulfill all the functions of them. Agree or disagree?

Books are the fundamentals of human’s life because they give people knowledge. And libraries have long been the place that human get access to books. Nowadays, computer technology is developing rapidly, many people think that computers could fulfill all the functions of public libraries; therefore government should not invest in funding public libraries. I disagree with this statement for the following reasons:

First and foremost, to each individual, public libraries still offer better information qualification. In other word, knowledge in books at the library is more reliable and are more relevant to what the readers are looking for than in the internet. This is because librarians are trained to do high level research on books, and they know which books are necessary for each field. As a result, people at the library would be more likely to get the knowledge that they need, and they would perform better at their work. For example, a researcher would come the library to get resources for his research because he knows he can get verified information, and if he does not know which books fit him, he can just ask the librarian for help.

Furthermore, for the society as a whole, public libraries are the better information resource because they can be accessed by everyone in the society. Unlike information in the internet, information in public libraries are totally free for every people. This offers the poor a chance to get knowledge as everyone else. Since everyone in the society can get knowledge, that society’s economy is more likely to develop. Otherwise, if governments do not invest in funding public libraries, people who can’t afford a computer cannot get access to knowledge, and this is harmful for the society development.

Opposing view claim that computers would offer a wider variety of information. To a certain extent, this makes some sense since information from the internet comes from many sources, not only books but also blogs, research, newspaper. However, that would also be the drawback of information on the internet because that information is not verified. Furthermore, readers might be confused deciding which information to use since there are too much, while at the library they can just ask the librarians for help. As a result, wider variety of information is not actually beneficial for the reader.

In conclusion, although we are living in the digital age, I still believe that public libraries are necessary and governments need to make investment on that. Since public libraries provide better knowledge to both individuals and the society as a whole, they are the indispensable part of our life.