Governments should not invest in funding public libraries as computers could fulfill all the functions of them. Agree or disagree?

Today, computers are everywhere and they make it easier to get information, movies or even books. Traditional printed books getting obsolete because of digital files and e-readers. Nevertheless, there are still books, magazines and journals in printed versions available. In my opinion, governments should continue to support public libraries because they have various social benefits the internet cannot provide. Therefore, I will highlight three reasons in the following paragraphs.

To begin, libraries are not only storage place of old and dusty books. They offer various other services such as book circles, reading events, presentations and even a movie gallery. They are a place where people can meet each other, enjoy spare time, discover new things and share opinions. In addition, libraries are also a social meeting point for kids. There they can explore new topics, play games and develop their knowledge as well as their social skills.

Second, there are not just previews of the book you are interested in, you can take it in your hands and have a closer look before you lend it out. The physical aspect is something that the internet can not provide. And afterwards, if you don't like the item you choose, you can bring it back an choose another one, without waste of money or space in your bookshelf.

Third, public libraries are an important source of knowledge for education. Moreover, they offer free access for everyone who is interested. Only if you want to take something with you, you need to be a member. Therefore, even poor people or their kids have access to education and can afford the membership fee.

To sum up, public libraries are an important source of knowledge and education. Their benefit to the society should not be measured on the governments expenses. Furthermore, they have to be seen as place for social interaction and equality of people.