It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts

In today’s complicated and interconnected world we live in, comprehension plays a vital role in the development and progress of the societies and countries. Some people believe that students should learn as much fact as they can in schools and universities. I personally, on the other hand, think that pupils should allocate more time to understand the concepts and notions they learn in the class. I feel this way due to two significant reasons which I will explain in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, if students learn the logic behind lessons they learn, they can easily apply it in their personal and later in their occupational life. In this line of thought, they can benefit from what they learn in the future. Nevertheless, they just memorize some information which is not useful for them in the long run. My personal example is a good illustration of this notion. Three years ago, when I was studying in university, I learned how to do statistical analysis in structural engineering. As a result, I applied whatever I learnt in my occupation which resulted in my rapid promotion after being employed. Had I not understood the rationale behind the theoretic aspects of that subject, I would not have been able to take advantage of it in my job position. Therefore, this example demonstrates how it is important for students to fully absorb the concepts instead of memorizing some basic information.

Last but not least, by learning the reasons behind the knowledge pupils learn from their teachers, they can make the world a better place to live through helping other individuals in their life. Aiding others when they face a problem or dilemma by them in the future can contribute a lot to the world where they live. For instance, my cousin used to learn how the electronic devices work. Consequently, after her graduation from school, she was able to repair every defect made in electronic equipment in the home. Hence, we took advantage of an expert when needed for some repairs required for damages made in some apparatus. If she had not grasped the ideas fully, she could not have helped us in the household repair and maintenance issues occurred once in a while for us. So, it is crucial for pupils to understand the concepts, not just learn some facts.

To put it all in a nutshell, taking all the aforementioned reasons and examples into account, I am of opinion that students have to know the rationale behind concepts educators give them. Not only can they make use of them in the near future in their lives, but also they can solve other people’s problems when needed.