It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

I strongly agree that it is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than to learn facts. Ideas and concept are the fundamental elements which are developed through basic principles and need to be understood by someone in depth to use those concepts in practical application, while facts need to be learned by the student. Facts are the universal truth which can not be refuted by any person’s opinion.

New Ideas and concepts can be developed with time and which results in improvement in technology, for example, Hyperloop is based on maglev principle, this idea was recently developed and was originally proposed by Elon Musk in 2012 when he published a paper on it. While facts are universal, no one can change it, for example, the sun rises from the east, water boils at 100 degrees centigrade, and oceans have salinity than lakes.

Nowadays people need not bother about learning facts as it can be retrieved easily through internet means. However, ideas and concept need to be understood in depth. Learning facts would not help much in long success, but understanding concepts and ideas do. Learning facts can only help in Graduate and High school level, but one who is thorough with ideas and concepts is in high demand for jobs while recruitment.

One needs to be more creative and open-minded while learning ideas and concepts inculcates more creativity. Ideas and concepts if understood properly can be recalled even years later, while one who mug up facts without understanding the basic principle behind it may forget them with time. During our high school time, we may be learning equations and formulas of mathematics, chemistry, and physics. But as we pursue higher education in university or as a research assistant, one may understand the idea and concepts behind the development of such equation and formulas. We may then realize that facts are just basic, there is a lot more ideas and concepts in their derivation.

Thus understanding ideas or concept can make one more prosperous than learning facts alone, therefore former is more important than latter.