It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Albert Einstein once said that imagination is more important than knowledge. By imagination, he meant the thought process, which is generated by more and more ideas accumulation. We think more when we know the concept behind the logic. Therefore, I believe that students need to understand the concepts and root ideas behind any fact. I feel this way for several reasons which I will expound in the following essay.

To commence with, the learning concept is important because it helps in remembering facts for a longer time duration than reciting it. Going beyond simple logic and finding its root is helpful for better understanding. Students who want to score more in the exam generally learn facts, but it is not the way education should be. They cannot remember the fact for a longer time without comprehending the origin of the problem. My personal experience is a compelling example of it. In mathematics, there are many theorems regarding distance. I used to look for the proof of theorems before simply using it. And in the exam, they asked to prove a theorem instead of its application. Many students were confused but I was able to solve that. Therefore, I, personally go for concepts rather than simple fact.

Secondly, the more we think, the better we understand. Moreover, we can get to know about other aspects of the problem if we explore it. Exploring is the first phase for any innovation. Scientists did not just believe on the facts, rather they went to look for the reason behind it. Imagine if Newton did not think why the apple fell downwards. We would not have laws of motions then. Humans evolved when they started thinking about the real life problems. Therefore, students must be taught in way they start thinking for innovating new things.

Finally, onle a person who has a better understanding a field, can be a good teacher. Imagine about ateacher who has no clarity on the topics, will students show any interest in the class? I believe no, because teaching requires not only knowledge but also the good explanational methods. A teacher who has depth knowledge can explain the problems clearly and students will surely like that.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that students must be encourage to think intensively to get better understanding. This is because that it will make them remember the fact for a longer time duration and explain it futher to anyone.