Is it more important to work hard many hours and support your family well, or spend more hours with your family and build good relationships?

Some people think that parent’s role are to work more hours to support their children financially. They think money will make their children happy in their lives. Although I understand their point of view, I have a different opinion. I believe that spending more time and building stronger relationships with my children are more important. The basis of my view is educational, social and personal.

From the educational perspective, children need their mom’s support specificlly at younger age. Children in school are doing a lot of work, moms at home are the only support to encourage them to be successful. For instance, In school students doing a lot of work and the understand the lessons from their teachers. But some times children need some help from their parents, if mom and dad are working all the time and no one can help them at home children will struggle in their education. Therefore from an educational perspective it is better to spend more time at home rather than working more hours to make more money.

Socially, working to many hours will affect the family relationship negatively. Children need a lot of attention. Children need their parent while they are young, they need their parent love and care. For example, parents are the only people who can pass on values to their children. Day care or baby sitting will not take the place of parents love and attention. If parents are working for longer hours to gain more money, they will miss the beauty of social life with their children. Also, they will not be building memories with their children. Therefore from a social perspective staying at home is more valuable in building the relationship than working long hours.

Personally, for me staying with my children and building a strong relation with them better than gaining more money. for me and my husband we decided that money is not that important. I decided to stay at home for a while till my children grow up. I want to teach my kids specific values. for example, I want them to learn, reading for 30 minutes every day is important. I want to teach them some personal behavior, such as not to interrupt people while they are talking, not to fight with each others. All these behavior are specifics to me as a mom, no one else will teach them to my kids. that is why I decided to stay home and spend time building up the relationship between me and my children.

In conclusion, for the reasons I stated above, I encourage all the parents to spend more time with their children. That will benefit the kids educational, social and from my personal view it is very important to have a better relationship with your kids.