It’s difficult for teachers to be both popular (well liked) and effective in helping students learn. Agree or disagree?

There is no doubt people agree that teachers are crucial for students' learning. However, someone may say it is a noble idea that a teacher is both popular and effective in teaching. Because in order to help students acquire knowledge efficiently in a hour of class, teachers endeavor to demonstrate as many boring professional articles which make students out of concentration easily. Nevertheless, I believe with the following strategies, a teacher can become both popular and effective.

First, a sense of humor is an important quality of a teacher. No one would not like a humorous person. An humorous teacher makes a class break in to laughter. According to a research, the delightful atmosphere in class has a tremendously positive effect on students. Students are more willing to listen and interested in what a teacher says. As a result, the teacher becomes charming and liked by students. For example, my math teacher in the elementary school has the sense of humor. I would never forget the way he taught us how to count. He made a fart in front of us and said it is "a" fart which is also counted as one. This teaching style encouraged us to believe that math is fun and practical. Moreover, all of the students were able to count from one to one hundred in half an hour.

Secondly, based on my experience, the more careful to students, the more popularity a teacher can have, and the better grades students can achieve. A well-rounded teacher should not only make an effort on academic education but also should care about students. The concern to students build a strong and trustful connection between a student and a teacher. People would like to talk or interact with someone they are familiar with, not even mentioned a student. During a long period of studying some students may feel stressful and frustrated about the overwhelming homework and exams. Or more, there may be some life crisis happens to a student to make him fail the exam. As a wonderful and beloved teacher, she cares about her students and find the reason why a student does bad in school. She changes the circumstance radically and helps students back to school. For example, my professor in graduate school is warm and full of kindness. I broke up with my boyfriend just 3 weeks before my oral presentation for the master degree. I was in a really bad mood and not concentrated on anything including my thesis and preparation of the oral presentation. Even though I said nothing to my professor, he made a great effort patiently to lead me to tell what happened to him. In addition, he was not only accompanied by me but also postponed my oral presentaion. I really appreciated what he did to me, so I decided to stay in school and get my doctorate.

In sum, although some people argue it is hard for a teacher to be liked by students and, on the other hand, to be disciplined, the strategies I mentioned are helpful for a teacher to reach the noble goal.