It’s difficult for teachers to be both popular (well liked) and effective in helping students learn. Agree or disagree?

There is no doubt people agree that teachers are crucial for students' learning. However, someone may say it is a noble idea that a teacher is both popular and effective in teaching. Because in order to help students acquire knowledge efficiently in a hour of class, teachers endeavor to demonstrate as many boring professional articles which make students out of concentration easily. Nevertheless, I believe with the following strategies, a teacher can become both popular and effective.

First, a sense of humor is an important quality of a teacher. No one would not like a humorous person. An humorous teacher makes a class break in to laughter. According to a research, the delightful atmosphere in class has a tremendously positive effect on students. For instance, if a teacher uses the same style such as the same tone and teaches content in the textbook, students will soon feel bored and lose concentration. On the other hand, if a teacher makes some jokes and relax the pressure in class, students are more willing to listen to and interested in what a teacher says. As a result, the teacher becomes charming and liked by students. Furthermore, undoubtedly students can be focus in class and learn better. For example, my math teacher in the elementary school has the sense of humor. I would never forget the way he taught us how to count. He made a fart in front of us and said it is "a" fart which is also counted as one. This teaching style encouraged us to believe that math is fun and practical. Moreover, all of the students were able to count from one to one hundred in half an hour.

Secondly,based on my experience, the more careful to students, the more popularity a teacher can have, and the better grades students can achieve. That is because caring students builds a strong and trustful connection between them and make a students love the teacher. No one will do something bad on purpose in front of someone she loves. As a result, students behave good and study hard in class. An vivid example is about my professor and me. My professor is an man who is very strict to his students. When I studied in graduate school, I broke up with my boyfriend. I was in a really bad mood and not concentrated on anything. Even though I said nothing to my professor, he made a great effort patiently to lead me to tell what happened to him. He was supportive and be accompanied by me. After that, in order to meet his expectation, I worked even harder.

In sum, although some people argue it is hard for a teacher to be liked by students and, on the other hand, to be disciplined, the strategies I mentioned are helpful for a teacher to reach the noble goal.