Many companies sell products or services but at the same time cause environmental damage. Someone said it can be stop by ask them to pay penalty, such as a higher tax when they cause the environmental damage. Others said there are better ways to stop them from harming environment. What do you think is the best way to prevent the environment from deteriorating?

In this world of rapid development, the advanced technology brings prosperity and convenience in many aspect of people's life. However, the technology, to be precisely, those companies offering products or services, also caused severe environmental problems. To solve those problems, some people suggest that those companies should pay penalty. From my persepctive, the penalty is not the best way to address those problems without several additional methods. It overlooks the greedy of businessman and ignores the fact that penalty could be effective only if it was used to ameliorate the environments.

First, profits of products and service can be overwhelming compared to the money paid for the penalty. Take the example of a paper factory. The paper factory need wood as material to make papers, and millions of trees are logged annually to make papers, which could cause the decline of wild animal habitats as well as the soil erosion. To make things worse, the paper production process involves several toxic chemical matters, which are disposed into water after being used. To be short, a paper factory could make series of pollution. However, this behavior would not stop because there are still profits after the payment of the penalty. In this sense, the penalty cannot help to improve the environmental situation.

Moreover, there is no guarantee that the fine would be used to compensate the damage caused by those companies. For example, in the case that the government decides to fine those companies with extra taxes, the taxes could be distributed to many asepct such as the public welfare, the fund of research and so on. As a result, the rest bulget are insufficient to compensate the damage caused by those companies. the chinese government published a policy to ask to those polluting companies for extra tax years ago. But the situation have not been better, the haze is still around Beijing, the national capital and the air quality in most of cities has not improved. One possible reason is that the government used those find on the facility constructions. The construction process, in return, resulted the severe air pollutions by putting the soil praticles into the air. In a sentence, improving environment needs more fund.

It is true that publishing laws enforcing those companies to pay penalty could be effective. However, it should be combined with other methods. For instance, the government could request every paper factory to utilize a machine to clear their wastewater.

In a nutshell, it is not sufficient to only ask penalty from those polluting companies. However, this approach could work with other means of combined enforcement.