many people believe that greed, or the desire to have more wealth than other people have, is a bad characteristic; people who are greedy are often considered selfish or unkind. However, some people argue that greed is actually a good characteristic for a person to have because greedy people will work harder than others to become successful. Do you believe that greed can be a good characteristic? why or why not? Use specific reason to support your answer.

Greed, or the desire to have more wealth than other people have, is a controversial issue. Some people argue that "Greed is good". In my opinion, I believe that greed is bad for individuals, businesses and the community as a whole. I feel this way for several reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, greed could be detrimental to the individual. A greedy individual would be fixed on gaining as much money as possible, which could lead them to utilizing unethical behaviors to achieve their goals. People who evade taxes are a compelling example on that. Some individuals prefer to get their compensation for a job in cash, which allow them to avoid paying taxes on this income. Moreover, some business owners could report losses on their tax return to even get more deductions. I agree that seeking self-interest is a good thing but not greed. Greed connotes a sense of unfairness, which means that someone wants to get more than they are entitled to, mostly with immoral means.

Second, covetousness is absolutely deleterious to businesses. A company which dedicates all its resources to making the most profit would not have the same motivation to invest in research and development as a company which is concentrating on helping their community and the humankind as a whole. To expand more on that, investing in innovation is risky in nature. As a result, a greedy company would try to avoid losses as much as they could and would be reluctant to invest in advancements in their realm. On the other hand, a business which has a mission, vision and a plan to make improvements in their field for the benefit of our entire species would delightfully fund research to discover new technologies. Pharmaceutical companies is a perfect example on that. Some drug companies spend more on marketing rather than research. They could try to falsely advertise that one of their medications is effective in certain medical cases while in fact, it's not. This dishonest attitude stems from greed and desire to increase profits without any added value to the product. Thus, this corporation would be less competitive with other innovative companies.

Lastly, greedy companies could negatively affect the whole community or country. Out of their greed, they would charge as much as they can for their products even if the product was not worth the amount of money paid by consumers. An increase in prices without further increase in the value of products could lead inflation.

In conclusion, encouraging people to be greedy in a society could lead to unexpected consequences. this notion makes sense to me since allowing individuals to acquire more than their fair share could end up with less appreciation for moral behavior and unjust community.