Modern agriculture methods damage the environment, but providing food for growing population around the world is more important than protecting the environment.

Nowadays, people tend to have different points of view on the question whether we should protect the environment or improve the modern agriculture. The most often heard contention about this topic is we should use modern agriculture methods despite damaging the environment. However, I think this view is over generalized. In fact, this issue can be analyzed from two different perspectives.

Indisputably, there is no justification for us to ignore the fact that agriculture is more important than the environment, especially when it comes to underdeveloped countries. It is widely believed that in some Africa countries a lot of people do not have food to eat. Thus, using modern agriculture methods ensures the basic food applies. I can think of no better illustration than the example of my friend Lucy, a volunteer who worked in Congo in 2016. When she arrived in Congo, she was surprised by the view she saw, since the children there were so skinny. She once taught in the local primary school, where the children only eating one meal for a day, and sometimes finding some grasses to eat. However, with the modern agriculture methods they could grow maize in very harsh conditions, so they can at least eat three meals a day. How could they care about the environment if they cannot even survive. Thus, recalling the experience of Lucy, I can conclude that, in underdeveloped countries, modern agriculture methods is more important.

However compelling the argument above is, it cannot support us to arrive at the verdict because it only focuses on the underdeveloped countries; In order to make a more dependable conclusion, we must consider other relevant situations in which environment is more essential than the agriculture, when it comes to developing or developed counties. It is universally accepted that for people live in the developing or developed countries the most urgent problem is the environment. In this case, protecting the environment is more significant than using modern agriculture methods for support the populations, since people there do not suffer from insufficient food issues. My grandmother’s experience is the best example to prove my point of view. My grandmother, who lives in a small city called Chongqing in China, once she took a trip to an rural area to breath some fresh air, but when she arrived, she found out that there are only lands, which were left because the using of modern agriculture method. Vegetations like flowers, grasser, and trees cannot grow up here, and the river was polluted too, with a smelt smell. She was so disappointed and even got sick because of the air pollution. As a result, it is more vital for developing countries to protect the environment for providing a good living area for the citizens instead of using modern agriculture methods.

To sum up, from what has been discussed, we can easily draw a conclusion that it is irrational to take it for granted that agriculture is more important than protecting the environment. Therefore, only in a case-by-case way can we fully explore this issue’s complexity.