Modern agriculture methods damage the environment but providing food for growing population around the world is more important than protecting the environment

Modern agriculture methods damage the environment, but providing food for the growing population worldwide is more important than protecting the environment.

Nowadays, people tend to have different points of view on whether we should protect the environment or improve modern agriculture. The most often heard contention about this topic is that we should use modern agriculture methods despite damaging the environment. However, I think this view is overgeneralized. This issue can be analyzed from two different perspectives.

Indisputably, there is no justification for us to ignore that agriculture is more important than the environment, especially in underdeveloped countries. It is widely believed that in some African countries, many people do not have food to eat. Thus, using modern agriculture methods ensures the basic food applies. I can think of no better illustration than the example of my friend Lucy, a volunteer who worked in Congo in 2016. When she arrived in Congo, she was surprised by the view she saw since the children there were so skinny. She once taught in the local primary school, where the children only eat one meal a day and sometimes find some grasses to eat. However, with the modern agriculture method, they could grow maize in very harsh conditions, so they could at least eat three meals a day. How could they care about the environment if they cannot even survive? Thus, recalling my experience with Lucy, I can conclude that, in underdeveloped countries, modern agriculture methods are more important.

However compelling the argument above is, it cannot support us in arriving at the verdict because it only focuses on the underdeveloped countries; To make a more reliable conclusion, we must consider other relevant situations in which the environment is more essential than agriculture when it comes to developing or developed counties. It is universally accepted that for people who live in developing or developed countries, countries the most urgent problem is the environment. In this case, protecting the environment is more significant than using modern agriculture methods to support the population since people there do not suffer from insufficient food issues. My grandmother’s experience is the best example of my point of view. My grandmother, who lives in a small city called Chongqing in China, once took a trip to a rural area to breathe some fresh air, but when she arrived, she found out that there was only land, which was left because of the using use of modern agriculture method. Vegetations like flowers, grasses, and trees cannot grow here, and the river was polluted too, with a smelt smell. She was so disappointed and even got sick because of the air pollution. As a result, it is more vital for developing countries to protect the environment by providing an excellent living area for the citizens instead of using modern agriculture methods.

From what has been discussed, we can quickly conclude that it is irrational to take it for granted that agriculture is more important than protecting the environment. Therefore, only in a case-by-case way can we fully explore this issue’s complexity.