One can deny there are positive and negative aspect of this prompt. If i were to choose, i would strongly agree that it is more important to keep old frields than new friends for a number of reasons that i will develop in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, old friends are people that really know you from inception and these friends can corroborate for you anytime, anyday. The fact that they know your antecedent can actually enable them to vouch for you at any point in time and new friends can not actually do this. I will have to admit my personal experience on this subject has profoundly influenced my opinion on the subject, about two years ago was wrongly indicted and accused for what i did not do, the sitiation involved the police and i was arrested and the long run i needed someone to come and plead my course, i was surprised none of my new friends came around. An old friend mine heard about it, he quickly came to my rescue and corroborated for me and said there is no way i could do such thing and that was how i got released. Had it not been for my old frield that came to my rescue, i would still be in the police custody till today. By this, the importance of keeping old friends can not be overemphasied.

Secondly, keeping old friends often makes one to retrace his path when one is going astray. These old friends help us to keep the sense of where we are coming when the dark days come. Drawing from my personal experience, four years ago i was about to drop out of school because of some life challenges, these challenges really got to me that my spirit was low and none of new new could make me see the reason to hold on, i related the challenges i was going with an old friend of mine, she took it on her to travel a a lot kilometers and to come to my school, she really inspired and made me know i have come a long way in life to let the challenges make me drop out school. She encouraged and made me realized how i strived so hard to gain admission into the school, i felt so inspired and i jettinson of my plan to leave school. Had it not been for my old friend, i would be a drop out and that would be a lifetime stigma for me. With regard to this, old friends are very important and they should be kept so close because they will always come to your rescue in hard days.

In the light of the above mentioned reasons, i strongly agree keeping old friends is more important that keeping new friends.