In order to get a higher promotion and salary, many people chose to improve their job performance in two ways. Which one do you prefer? Why?

1 To do additional work and assignments

2 To actively participate in the group work.

General wisdom believes that a higher promotion and salary are the course of pleasure. In order to do so, some may dwell on themselves while some might focus on improving social life and actively involve themselves in group works. I believe that doing additional work and assignments leads to higher promotion and salary.

Off the top of my head is that working all by oneself is the best way to achieve efficiency. That is to say, dealing with a task individually helps avoid wasting time on communicating with others. In this case, one will be prominent among his or her colleagues. Being a college student, the once unpleasant memory about the group work offered a peek into the essence of it. When I was a freshman, there was an environmental science course of which the final project was to do a group research on one type of American crops. There were six people in the group with me being the leader. Starting from the very beginning, we spent the whole week just deciding which crop to study. After choosing maize as our primary subject, here came the issue about how to divide the huge research into six small pieces. Even though having set up everyone's job and trivial details like the font style, the font size, and the format of the paper, the final results of every one were still of great differences. I had to spend my own time doing jobs which could totally be avoided if the group member were on the same page. As one can imagine, the work of our group was anything but ideal. Let alone that was during the final's period. This group work exerted a negative impact on my other courses as well.

In addition, doing work and assignments alone enables oneself to make self-improvements. After all, one has to cope with everything himself which in turn benefits him with an accumulation of more knowledge and experiences. In sharp contrast with that environmental science course, I did an excellent job in my communication's final project in my sophomore year. Having learned a lesson from the previous setback, I chose to finish that project all by myself. To be honest, there were myriad of moments that I wished there could be someone helping me with those technical problems. To name some, editing video clips, building models and then running software. I had to watch tutorials of Final Cut Pro on Youtube and tried to practice several experimental clips so that I can confident enough to edit my video. As for the data analyzing task, I took the advantage of our on-campus computer lab. I spent all the spare time stayed until the close hour in the lab learning about Python and building models for my own data. Of course, that was time-consuming. Yet, after surmounted those obstacles and received the highest score in my class, now I am proficient in these skills and even able to help my friends who major in media or computer science.

My point is thus quite clear. Doing additional work and assignments helps people to get higher promotion and salary.