People can solve important problems in their daily life on their own or with the help from families. The help from the government is no necessary. Agree or disagree

In a society that changes as amazingly as ours, the role played by government in our daily life has been brought under the spotlight of mass media. Consequently, the general public and sociologists are wondering whether people can solve important problems individually or with the governmental support. Towards such a long running tug-of-war, I am inclined to claim that the help from government is necessary in the process of resolving important problems, especially in the aspects of protecting environment and addressing the disparity of educational resources.

In the first instance, consider the environmental issues. As is common sense, the deteriorating natural environment is so severe and complicated that the solution of such a problem is far beyond the reach of any individuals or families. The serious air pollution in China is a good case in point. Despite the fact that people can take some actions such as wearing masks or taking the public transportation to relieve the haze occurring frequently in the major cities of China in some degree, the problem cannot be radically solved. To illustrate, the major cause responsible for the smoggy weather is nothing but the emission of waste gas such as dust and smog from an appalling number of heavy-pollution factories. In this case, it is the government that can get rid of the fundamental cause by shutting down these plants and enacting laws or regulations to restrict their production, which can’t be achieved by any individuals.

In the second instance, the same logic goes to the educational problems. As is known to all, many school-age children in rural and remote areas are not able to receive education in school due to the lack of educational resources. According to a survey conducted by the Education Ministry in China in 2015, approximately 3 million kids in the Southwest of China didn’t have the chance to get educated on account of lacking in tables, textbooks and even spacious classrooms. When confronted with the issue mentioned above, what individuals or families can do is quite limited. Undoubtedly, only the government has the adequate financial resources and power to allocate educational resources to those places. For example, the government of China builds nearly 10,000 primary schools called Hope School in the distant places, which alleviates the disparity in educational resources between different regions to a large extent.

Judging from what has been discussed above, we can draw the conclusion that although the ability of individual or families is becoming stronger and greater than before, the help from government is of great necessity in the course of solving significant problems, especially those in the areas of education and environment.