People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment doing things they like to do rather than doing things they should do

It is hard to deny that spending too much time on entertainment instead of doing the right things we should do leads to less efficient outcome. And such a fact cause impressionable people to generate the opinion that human should spending time only on things they should do thus distributing time perfectly. However, such a statement suffers from both logical and factual fallacies, and it should be examined meticulously. As far as the advanced technologies and the efficiency of today's economy are concerned, I firmly hold that people nowadays are not spending too much time on enjoying themselves rather than distributing their time properly and doing the right things.

First and foremost, the Internet is such a great invention which brings things unimaginable years ago to life. For example, learning is a serious process in the past, and it may just take place in a classroom. However, thanks to the Internet and great knowledge of engineering, learning can be through lens and screens. Take my French majored friend Rita for example, she learns french on a website with teachers from France and literally know the culture of it. She decides to join the online not because it is required but because she has interest in it. She has told me that she has lots of fun speaking with native speakers in comparison to sitting in the classroom memorizing the grammar. Meanwhile, she is both doing things she should do and enjoying herself, the two are not in conflict.Not to mention, if human always spending time on something serious and productive, they would not find happiness in things they do.

Furthermore, the fact that efficiency led by technological progress today help us finish a task more quickly indicates that we can complete the task without having to spend that much time on work. Take the case of the speed-up function of YouTube and any kind of online video player, which enable viewers to adjust the speed of the videos. As a result, I tend to speed up the videos of a few types, mostly informative like cooking recipe demonstration and book review. Had it not been for the fabulous function, I would never save that much time and save for something more meaningful .

To sum up, I believe people today are not spending too much time on self enjoyment rather than things they should do, they just combine the two together. This is because the advanced technologies and the efficiency led by it.