Should the government support artists or should artists support themselves?

When it comes to the topic whether artists should be supported by government or support themselves, different people hold different views. Some think artists are supposed to invest in themselves, claiming that they are responsible for dealing with personal issues. However, from my point of view, the government should support arts.

On one hand, art is essential to modern life and central to civilized society. To be specific, people nowadays is more willing to pursue beautiful items than people in the past because they find those beauties could contribute to a relaxing, comfortable life. And art is the key to those beauties. For example, Apple's products are well-known not only for their technology but also for their wonderful design. They provide users a feeling of luxury, ingenious, thus leading to a satisfaction of arts. If without art in designs, Apple may not succeed and we cannot enjoy the arts in technology. On the contrary, if the government gives its investment in arts, citizens have more access to getting a better understanding of arts.

On the other hand, works of art convey the ineffable. To illustrate, there are various ways to convey ideas like writing, speaking. But when foreigners get together, they can hardly have a fluent talk, so arts come into the picture. For instance, the Starry Night, one of the masterpieces of Vincent's, promises a certain method to get into Vincent's deep heart. Without any words, we could feel the mania from the bottom of his heart, which cannot be expressed in words. If the government allocate some money to build art museum and works of art, people would have positive outlets for their negatives.

Admittedly, this should never be an excuse for artists to get sloth. It is undoubtedly worthwhile for artists to promote themselves then catching proper opportunities to lead a better life and create more valuable works.

In a nutshell, due to the great value of arts, the government is supposed to invest in arts. Besides, artists are also required to calm down and create great works.