Should your government place a tax on the junk food and fatty snacks?

Junk food is killing millions of people around the world. Each year many people are diagnosed with different disease such as diabetes and heart diseases because of fast food consumption. Even though, some people consider that it is fine to eat fatty food if one exercises, I don't agree. Rather, I support the statement that the government should place taxes in this toxic food. I to support my point of view, in the next paragraphs will develop some arguments.

In the first place, if the government applies taxes to junk food, less people will suffer from diabetes and heart problems. In today's hectic life, people make more emphasis in the money, instead of their health. Thus, people try to eat fast food to save time they claim '' that time is money''. Nevertheless, they don't realize the terrible effects that junk food has on their health. My neighbor was a victim of junk food. Due to the fact that he didn’t have time to cook and eat healthy, instead my neighbor decided to eat MacDonald everyday. As a result, he develops a diabetes type II, and now he regrets for this bad habit. Doctors say that in upcoming years the number of patients with this disease will increase much more.

Another noteworthy aspect that should be reflected in this explanation is that junk food is more expensive than the healthy food. If someone wishes to buy a sandwich from MacDonald, it would cost three times the amount of money that one would spend if prepare in home. I might help illustrate this point due to the fact that some weekends I go out and eat in some restaurants. I realized that for the price of one lunch I might buy many things in the supermarket. This is a waste because junk food is expensive and also will affect your health.

Also, Junk food harms the environment. A few days ago, I saw a TV program where they explained how the fast food restaurants are polluting the environment. Fast food stores are poring used cooking oil in to the tap. This has reached local rivers and many animals’ species have died because of that. In addition, fast food stores use paper that come from trees.

To sum up, for the reasons stated above, I agree with the statement that the government should apply taxes to junk food because it is affecting people's health, it is more expensive and finally it is damaging the environment.