Some parents forbid young children from owning smart phones (cell phones with Internet access), while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in touch. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?

Only in the last few decades in the long history of humankind, has technology developed exponentially. Smartphones and internet have become ubiquitous, with more that 90 percent of the earth having access to them. As the encroachment of smartphones over our lives grows, some parents feel that young kids should not be allowed to have exposure to phones as it may negatively affect them. Others disagree, stating phones are important to stay in touch. Excessive phone usage may indeed be harmful, but forbiding young kids from using phones is definitely not the right measure.

Smart phones are useful and essential even, for a variety of reasons. Apart from the vast amount of knowlegle, ease of use, and access to almost anything possible via the internet, smartphones have powerful features that can enable parents to stay in touch with their kids. Parents that have to work away from the kids, can catch up with them over video-call. By using instant messaging small messages can be delivered to the kids such as to remind them about the forgotten lunch box in their bag. Then there are many applications that can share the location of the user remotely. Parents could monitor it and stay aware about the whereabouts of their kids at all times; thus, providing the parents a sense of assurance that their young ones are safe.

On the contrary, when something is forbidden, its appeal increases even more. If kids are not allowed to use smartphones, they will find other ways to access them. They could borrow it from friends or even retort to stealing. Without access to phones, the kids will not be able to reach their parents incase some emergency arises. Some will argue that there have been contless generations that made it throught without cellphones, however, as of now, it does seem the need of the hour. Only precaution that would have to be taken is to prevent kids from excessive usage of cellphones, as that could make them too dependent on it, or addicted.

In conclusion, parents should definitely allow young children to own smartphones, but at the same time, the use of these powerful gadgets should only be moderately allowed.