Some parents forbid young children from owning smart phones (cell phones with Internet access), while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in touch. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?

Smartphones, once a symbol of wealth and luxury have now become a commonplace item. Nowadays, it is not uncommon to see young kids playing games online and watching movies on their smartphones instead of going out and playing with their friends. Such an obsession with these devices may not bode well for the development of young children for many reasons.

Kids these days tend to spend a lot of time on their smart devices and do not get any physical exercise. Such dependency on smartphones creates a multitude of problems for the kids - they do not learn how to make friends or how to act in a social environment, they do not know how to behave in class. Not only that, but it also has adverse effects on children's' health such as obesity. For example, my brother has allowed his son to use a smartphone since he was seven years old. He uses this smartphone every day, and when taken away from him starts throwing tantrums. He does not know how to properly behave in class and gets reprimanded by his teachers every day. Since he got his smart device, he has stopped playing physical games with his friends leading to him becoming obese.

Another reason why many parents forbid their kids from owning a smartphone is because of the distraction that they provide. For example, during my high school, a lot of my classmates were introduced to smartphones. Most of them were easily distracted by the allure of losing themselves in online games or chatting with people on online forums such as Reddit or Facebook. Because of this, the grades of a lot of students in my class dropped that year, decreasing their chances of getting into a good University. If smartphones could have such adverse effects on teenagers, one can only imagine how much more of a destructive role they would play on younger kids.

While some parents think that smartphones are an important tool to keep in touch with their children, they do not realise the double-edged nature of their decision. We see examples on the news where strangers and pedophiles target younger children who are online. Most of us have at least once been the target of scam pop-up ads on the internet which when clicked leads to phishing sites. Giving young children devices that have access to the internet is very dangerous in the absence of constant parental guidance.

While smartphones may seem to be useful in tracking the whereabouts of one's children and keeping in touch with them; there are several downsides in giving young children access to smartphones. Hence, I strongly believe that young children should not have access to smartphones.