Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

Childhood is the most crucial period of a person's life. It is the time for a person to learn many things, get social with people, prepare himself for future and get proper education. Sometimes, parents tend to celebrate their kids success in school by offering them money. Many people might support the idea saying that it would motivate a kid to achieve good result and consequently it would help them to make a prosperous life. However, I personally strongly hate this idea and some reasons will be provided in the following paragraphs to verify my judgement.

First and foremost, the main reason I disagree with the idea of offering money for good result in school is that this kind of monetary token might make a child greedy. It is a known fact that children always learn from their parents. Therefore, if they find that their parents measure every success with money, it would certainly make their mindset likewise and when they grow up they would also consider economical value of every aspect of life. Hence, I think it is better to appreciate a child for his success and make the kid feel that his success makes the parents happy. To encourage the kid, parents might arrange a party or plan a tour or even cook special dish and celebrate the success.

Second issue that comes to my mind is that children might take tremendous pressure to achieve good result in order to earn money. As a consequence, it might cause harmful effect on physical and mental health of a child. Moreover, this kind of monetary prizes might lead a child to follow unethical ways to confirm good result in exams. Also, it would create unnecessary competition in learning environment and a child might tend to look for shortcut ways to get higher grade.

Finally, I personally believe that achieving good result in school should not be the only goal of a child. Parents should motivate their kid to engage into another activities like painting, reading books, playing games and other extra-curricular activities. Offering money only for educational success might lead a child unsocial and he would keep himself into home to study day and night. In our childhood, most of us manage our time to play, to gossip and other activities which gave us much wonderful experience and made our childhood enjoyable.