Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

Nowadays, it is commonly accepted that offering money or award to school-age children for getting good grades in school have several educational and psychological benefits for children. So most parents do it. Contrary to this popular belief, there are still those who argue that if parents offer money for each high mark, it leads to students do not understand the main aim of study and education and it would be harmful in the long-term for their study. However, I, to a great extent, agree with this idea that offering money to school-age children for each high grade they get in school is a good idea.

First and foremost, giving money to children is a kind of prize and could motivate them for more study at school. It can increase happiness and positive feelings in children. For example, I believe approximately all of us have a similar experience during our study at school. I remember my father had promised that if I take 19 (out of 20) in my mathematics course, he would buy my favorite earrings to me. After I got it, I was encouraged to study in harder to earn more prize.

Another significant fact that should be taken into consideration is that offering money is a good way to taught children how to set a goal in their life. The school-age children are too young to understand the importance of getting high marks on their future life. Nonetheless, an award is more familiar as a goal to them. In addition, when students seek to reach their goals, it provides them with a sense of responsibility about decisions. For instance, when I was trying to get mark 19, my study hours became more regular, I weak up sooner for study and I had fewer wasted time.

Finally, yet importantly, students learn how to manage their own extra money. Budget managing like any other skills should be taught to children. For example, parents give options such as, deposited it in a bank, keep it to buy a toy and etc. In this way not only this money stimulate children for better study at school, but also it is a good opportunity for training living skills.

On the basis of reasons that were mentioned above, I am convinced that offering money to school-age children for each high grade they get in school is a good idea. Because it works as a motivation factor and make get a goal to them and taught them how to manage their money.