Some people believe school cafeterias should stop selling soft drinks and other high-sugar drinks, while others think students should have a choice in what they drink. Which option do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Students spend ample of time at the school. School is the place where students just not receive only academic education, but they also learn various skills, discipline, planning, organizing. But most importantly how to be healthy is being taught to them at school. In learning about health canteen can play an important role. Because of that it should provide healthy food to students. I believe that soft drinks should be banned in the school canteen. I will explain my reasons in the ensuing paragraphs.

First, soft drinks are spiked with sugar and have no nutritional content. The main ingredients of these carbonated drinks are water, sugar and coloring agents which are very harmful to human body. Excessive sugar consumption contributes to diabetes, which is life threatening. Moreover, too much sugar can cause tooth decay and lead to bad breath. Those who consume too much sugar, they are at risk of becoming obese which can lead to medical complications. Thus, schools should only allow healthy drinks such as soy bean milk, yoghurt drink, herbal teas and others which have low sugar content but rich in protein and carbohydrate.

Secondly, students in fact waste their parents' money buying drinks that provide zero health benefits. children who want to cool off during the summer can replace their soft drinks with natural fruit juice, lime juice or water. This is a much healthier option and will have the same effect. Further, nutritionally rich food tends to be more expensive and thus canteen operators are reluctant to sell them. However, if the government offers subsidies to these operators as well as food coupon to make healthy food more affordable to students, it would be successful in creating a society which is health conscious.

Let’s put in a nutshell, students have a right to choose their favorite drinks. But schools should not sell drinks that can harm their students because it helps children to save money and have a healthy life.