Compare the advantages and disadvantages of requiring college freshman to complete at least a year of college classes before selecting a major versus having them choose right away. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

College is a transitioning phase for high school students from adolescence to adulthood. Students attend college to get a detailed education in their career field. Most of the time, students are not clear about their career and because of that they cannot directly decide their major. However, some students have clear idea on their career and thus they choose their major at the beginning of the college. But I strongly believe that if students take time to choose their major in college is more beneficial. I will elaborate my reasons in the ensuing paragraphs.

First, students get serious and mature when they join college. College is a place where they spend more time to build their career. Students should spend one year to get ample information about basic subjects and then pick a field of their interest for a major is more advantageous. For example, if a student somehow became a computer engineer, but his interest and expertise is in mechanical, he/she won’t achieve a good job success and satisfaction.

Secondly, taking a time to choose a major can potentially save money and time both. For example, if student choose a major without giving a full consideration, he/she may find out after a year or two that it is difficult to complete the courses and exams of this major, and thus, it is too late now to restart again.

Lastly, there are few demerits also, if students waste their one-year time for only selecting their major, it might affect their career too. They delay their graduation compare to their peers. If students have some subjects as a prerequisite for their major, that case, they should not waste their time just selecting major.

Let’s put in a nutshell, some decisions are most important for our life because it might change our future. Thus, students should not rush before making their mind for major since it is about their career.