Compare the advantages and disadvantages of requiring college freshman to complete at least a year of college classes before selecting a major versus having them choose right away. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The issue of whether college freshman should require to complete at least a year of classes before selecting a major or having them choose right away aroused much controversy among people with different ages and different perspectives. Definitely, some people if were asked, would agree the requiring students finish at least a year of college before selecting major have more advantages than choosing their major right away. As I am concerned, I completely agree with the former group. In the following paragraph, I will shed light on arguments to support my view.

The first point to be mentioned is that this attitude gives college freshman an opportunity to choose their major accurately. The student who wants to attend university is young people that have not enough experiences to realize what their interesting major is, as this is the first time in their life they have to follow specific major. Before that, they might interest in major based on some emotional and unreasonable motivations like their favorite actors study this major or they heard with studying in this major they can find a better job and get paid high salary. However, when they start to study this major they realize the reality is totally different from what they have thought. Therefore, this plan gets them a chance to know about their real interest and talent to be a successful person in the future.

In approaching this issue, apart from the point that stated before, another reason is that this gap education helps them to be familiar with the atmosphere of the university which helps them to make a plan for their educational period. Every university has special facilities that sometimes students become aware of them when they are graduating. So, they would regret they could not benefit these facilities. For instance, some beneficial extra-curricular classes, or special program in recreation center hold in university as you have enough time, you can know them and have a schedule to use your time efficiently.

On the other hand, the opponents of this plan put forth the idea that this education gap is not needed because students would be lagged behind other students who attend college right away. They finish their college later than their peers and get a job with a delay that is not logical from the financial aspect.

By the way of conclusion, based on the arguments above, I am of the opinion the idea of gap education far outweigh choosing major right away. It gets students a chance to find out their real interest and also, gain information about the place where they are supposed to spend most of their time.