Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Parents are the best teachers. Use specific reasons and example to support your answers.

Parents shape their children from the beginning of their children's lives. They develop close emotional ties with their children. They share their interest with them. They teach them values. Parents can be very important teachers in their children's lives; however, they are not always the best teachers.

Parents may be too close to their children emotionally. For example, they may limit a child's freedom in the name of safety. A teacher may organize an educational trip to a big city, but a parent may think this trip is to organize an educational trip to take the children camping, but a parent may be afraid of the child getting hurt.

Another problem is that parents sometimes expert their children's interests to be similar to their own. If the parents love science, they may try to force their child to love science too. But what if the child prefers art? if the parents enjoy sports, they may expect their child to participate in different teams. But what if the child prefers to read?

Finally, although parents want to pass on their values to their children, values can change. The children of today are growing up in a world different from their parents' world. Sometimes parents, especially older ones, can't keep up with rapid social or technological changes. A student who has friends of different races at school may find that his parents don't understand or value the digital revolution.

Parents are important techers in our lives, but they aren't always the best teachers. Fortunately, we have our peers. Books and newspapers also teach us. All of them are valuable.