Some parents forbid young children from owning smart phones (cell phones with Internet access), while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in touch. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?

In technological world owning a smart phone has become necessary, but by whom it should be own that also does matter. In other words, although smart phone has valuable merits still children should not own a smartphone. According to me it is parent’s obligation to stop their children from owning a smart phone. I will explain my reasoning in detail in my ensuing paragraphs.

Cell phones have the power to distract young students doing their schoolwork. Rather than paying attention in class, students try to sneak opportunities to play on their phones. Instead of thinking about schoolwork, they obsessively text one another and try to check websites like Facebook, Instagram, WhatsApp, Snap Chat. This takes time away from valuable studying. This is a problem both during the school and afterwards, when youngsters should be working on their homework.

At the same time, smart phones can be extremely costly. Many plans require parents to pay unreasonably high monthly rates. At times, these rates can climb even higher if children use too much data due to things like downloading songs on the Internet. Rather than wasting money on a phone, parents should use such funds on better causes, like tutors for their children, or a home computer on which supervised learning can take place.

Finally, smart phones can be dangerous for young children. We are still unsure that medically what are the long-term effects of exposure of cell phones, particularly on vulnerable groups such as young children. It would be better to be safe than sorry. The less exposure children have to potential toxins, the better. At the same time, kids are sometimes targeted on social media sites by strangers. If parents allow young children to have smart phones, it might be difficult to protect them from these kinds of threats.

Let’s put in a nutshell, while older children may sometimes need cellphone to stay in touch with their parents or wise versa, , in this case, they do not require phone with internet access. In my consideration parents can guide their children in right direction by not allowing them owning a smart phone.