Some parents forbid young children from owning smart phones (cell phones with Internet access), while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in touch. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?

It is no doubt that we live in a digitally connected world, technology has been making itself apparent in every sphere of life. With so much exposure to technology, there are debates as to whether children should be given their own smarrtphones with internet access. I believe they shouldnt be forbidded from owning a smartphone and below are my views on three different aspects of this issue.

In this generation, in most of the housholds, both the parents are working. In such situation, it becomes really difficult to take care of kids and keep in touch with them. For instance, if both parents return home after 7pm, whereas the children return from school by 4pm. In the last few hours of their work, the parents cant help but be worried about whether the child has safely returned, whether he has had his/her lunch after reaching home, and so on. Owning a phone solves this and gives a sense of security and assurance. Access to today's technology makes connects the whole family like never possible before.

Human mind has an innate tendancy towards taboo or forbidden things. Many parents believe that exposure to such technologies at such young age would lead to addiction, and as a result forbid their kids from using them. I believe this just makes it worse because when they finally get to use it, they would be overwhelmed and get lost into their devices. This defeats the purpose of restricting the use at young age in the first place. Instead, parents should trust their children with independace so that they can learn and develop themselves the most.

Technology has advanced in all the field just to make mankind's life easier. This applies to mobile phones and internet too. As with all things, it depends on the user to use it for the good or the bad. So, parents should teach their kids from an young age on proper use of such technologies. Imagine, if a child who has been restricted from internet for most part of his life finally gets to use it. Without proper guidance, he will fall prey to imporper usage and that will do more harm than good. Suppose he was exposed to free use of technology right from a very young age and was properly guided, then he would know how to make good use of it and will make the most out of it.

In this age of technology, it is wise to accustom children with proper use of technology right from an young age so they know better of it and use it for they best.