Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Only people who earn a lot of money are successful. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Success plays an important role in humans’ lives. It motivates them to keep on going with their passion or goal. Success can be defined in myriad ways. For some, success is an external concept to be measured in terms of high income, huge bank balances, fancy cars, expensive mansions, luxurious holidays and so on. However, I believe that success is more than how much money you make. Some of those measures of success include social, respect, and knowledge.

First, one of the most important indicators of success is knowledge. We all have heard a quote that ‘knowledge is power’. If a person is knowledgeable then he/she does not require money to be successful in life. For example, Abdul Kalam is a famous scientist from India. He is also former prime minister of India. He is not known because of his money but his intelligence. He belongs from a mediocre family, and after becoming a scientist; he served his country for many years. It illustrates that money does not play an important role in a person’s success.

Second, when a person gets respect from others that lead him to success in his/her life. Money does not require being respected. If a person co good for other think in benefit of others, then people start following his/her ethics. For instance, Mr. Mahatma Gandhi, took stand for Indian people to get freedom from Britishers. People believed his motives and ethics. His main two principle was truth and non-violence. People walked on his path and achieved freedom form Britishers ruling. Moreover, Martin Luther, the beloved civil rights leader in the United States of America, who adopted non-violence as the weapon of choice to help millions of African Americans fight for their rights. It can be concluded from these examples that

success can be achieved by respect from others.

Lastly, success is not all about fame and money, it could be about enjoying your work and achieve success in that work. For example, an artist does not earn much money by doing their work, but they definitely get work satisfaction. In other terms that is their success. For example, my mom is the best cook. She does not run and cooking business. She loves to cook for her loved ones. Serving great food and asking comments on her food is her definition of success.

In conclusion, each person has his/her own definition of success. Based on my experiences, I strongly believe that people can be successful in various ways such as, by earning respect, being social, and knowledge.