Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Only people who earn a lot of money are successful. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The definition of success depends largely on the belief of each person and the shared values among a particular society. A persons’ wealth, or the amount of money he/she possesses reflects his/her lifelong endeavor and represents for the accomplished achievement of this person is a critical indicator to evaluate his/her success. However, financial amount isn’t sufficient to determine whether a person obtains a particular degree of success, but rather it should assessed by the impact of their works on whole society and considering the fact that not all influential people are rich.

How many assets owned by a person cannot prove for his/her success, but the way he/she employs the resources to creates positive changes and improvement to the society matters. Firstly, a successful person needs to place a greater importance on the general benefits, rather than his/her own sakes. For example, a well-off manager cannot gain the veneration from his collogues and sub-coordinators if he/she just minds how to garner successful campaigns as the evidence for his achievement instead of taking care about the development of each member of the team and improving the working quality of his company. Secondly, there’s a multitude of millionaire in the world, but few of them can create changes in the society due to their lack of sufficient knowledge and capability. Specifically, many acquire their wealth by a stroke of luck or inherited from their parents, yet without education attainment and management ability, they cannot use the assets obtained properly. Furthermore, wealth accumulation is in the nature of human-beings and the desire to be rich may induce numerous evil deeds which become the negative side of money. For example, many people commit criminal by taking illegal businesses as the accommodation for their longing for money, of course success is not the term for those people. All in all, the wealth of a person cannot govern for his success, but it only can be obtained by his dogged determination to create changes for others in an appropriate manner.

Many come to wealth accumulation as the way to achieve successful career, but a lot of others show different manners of achieving the hall of fame. Some may argue that money is the fruit of the hard work and being emblematic for the amount of endeavor one exerts in his work. It is reasonable that behind all the successful firms and billionaire there is a story of hardship and sacrifice, thus the amount of fiscal resources one possess partially reflects his work and being the triumph of his success. However, as mentioned before, among a plethora of indicators to pinpoint a person’s endeavor, his financial status is just the one showing minor implication. His contribution to the general good, the extent to which his work positively change the world do matter, and all those strenuous tasks may not allow him/her to garner his/her own wealth. Indeed, various people who are widely venerated don’t keep for his own use any sum, as Kant once said “We are not rich for the things we possess but for the thing we can live without”. For instance, numerous scientists or writers whose work carrying out profound transformations of the world but they remain a poor financial status throughout their lives, yet who dare to question their success. Additionally, many activists devoting their whole lives to help others in creating a better world for all yet they do not take advantage of their reputation for any purpose of making money. Therefore, money may reflect the lifelong work of a person, but there are a plethora of other ways to create changes and marking a person’s achievement.

In conclusion, although financial status of a person provides a concrete evidence for his/her contribution and hard work, yet a variety of other factors need to be taken account to put a person in the hall of fame, especially the impact of his/her work on the society.