Do you agree or disagree with the statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Family, as the fundamental unit of socialization exerts a great importance to the construction of a scociety; however, in recent decades there witnesses transformative changes taking place in every aspect of living, the structure of a typical family endure significant changes. Families accommodating various different generations are gradually replaced by smaller families containing less members. This shift from a complicated to a simple family structure can be explained by changes in lifestyle of modern people, especially the increasing independence of young adults from their parents, and it creates a more favorale living conditions for family members in a more comfortale and convenient manner.

A simple family supporting less number of members allows each individual to live freely and happily. Firstly, a common dispute of numerous extended families is about household management owing to the disparity in lifestyles, habits, and preferences of different members of different generations. For example, while young people these days construe staying up late as a common habit, it poses a tremendous problems to elderly who struggle to insomnia, consequently they may be disturbed by other's activities in the night. Secondly, there is a serious problem to find a general living timetable suitable to every person in a large family for each person has distinctive working skedule. For instance, in Asian family that the mother takes the responsibility for all household chores of a family including preparing supper for all members, choosing an optimum dinner menu accordingly to each person wish or a appropriate time for dinner that every one has arrived at home is a dilemma. As the result, the less complicated family is prefered by increasing number of modern family.

Nowadays, young people strive for the life of independece and living apart from their parents is a prevailing trend among them, thus the extended families are no longer preferable among recent generations. Some argue that people should not choose a life of independence from the beginning of their adulthood since they have not properly prepared for separated living, taking both financial and living matter. It is reasonable that a great number of young adults who leave their family in early age cannot attain financial well-being, many sink into debts for they live at subsistence level, and many others commit delinquency due to financial hardship. However, although leaving original family creates tough challenges for young people, it equipped them with necessary skills and determination for future success. Indeed, difficulties and challenges posing in the first steps of independent life provides them with valuable lessons, making them more versatile in dealing with real circumstances and finding resolutions for interpersonal relationships which are the cardinal principle for a sucessful person.

In conclusion, simple families encompassing few generations or the absence of young and elderly people in a typical modern family is a rising phenomenon in recent years for the fact that it solves various problems derising from the living of different generations and the desire to get an independent life of young people, indeed, smaller families offer a more comfortable and convenient living for all family members that they can live a life according to their own wishes.