Pets should be treated like family members.

Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons to support your opinion.

Loneliness is an increasingly social issue of the modern world that afflicts the mental well-beings of both elderly and young people. In this context, domesticated animals such as dogs or cats become an integral part of every family for they are loyal partners for every adult owner and amicable friends for children. They play an important role in every family, a pet should be treated equally as a human family member for the respect for their own right and for the valuable lesson about humanity for the kids.

The equality in the treatment of animals and humans exemplifies the virtue of humanity that is a treasured lesson for young generations. Since every member of the family shows amicable affection towards the pets, it is a guidance for children to develop kind behaviors and good personalities. Indeed, altruistic feeling is pivotal in shaping the morality of young people and it can be only achieved by virtued deeds towards every God’s creations including animals. For instance, by construing a dog as a member of the family, a child develops his sense of goodness by the manner he treats his pet equally to every human-being. Furthermore, in the reminiscence about childhood of every person, pets are a central image in our memory. In fact, the size of a typical modern family is decreasing over time due to the prevailing trend of independent living among the youth and the elderly, a pet becomes the closest friend for many kids that they are the only confidant for the lonely to share their experience and emotions. With the elderly suffering the loss of their romantic partners and living a life of solitude, they find the solace in nurturing their pets. All in all, pets are actual members of a majority of moderns families, who help the children to build their kindness and being a fellow for old people in their reclusive lives.

In addition to the merits brought about by raising a pet as a human-like member in a family, we treat them equally in respect of their own right. Some argue that pets are just animals and people should not treat them as a human-being regardless of their affectionate feelings towards their pets. In their argument, they show that if people oppose to any disparate treatments between humans and pets, every animal in the world deserves this privilege. In fact, domesticated animals constitute a large proportion of the world’s animals, while the number of wild animals is decreasing over decades. Nevertheless, pets evolve over time for their adaptation for their livings with humans, those animals develop some specific characteristics that are suitable for human’s condition of living, rather than the wild. Indeed, those unique attributes distinguish them from other animals that have not undergone any domestication process. For example, various genetic researches point out that dogs develop various traits from their separate living from their ancestors like wolves. A pet knows how to express their emotions, they care about its owner’s attitude, and he builds a strong bone to humans, all these facts can not be disregarded.

In conclusion, no matter how they are different from us, pets are the members in many families, they are teachers for our children about compassion and goodness, they are partners for alienated people who seek a fellow, and they are friends that deserve the equal treatment of all humans.