Pets should be treated like family members.
Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons to support your opinion.
Many people have different types of pets, and they also have diverse attitude towards their domesticated animals. Personally, I believe that pets need to be respected
but not as family members. In other words, owners need to consider the family members as better than pets. I feel this way for several reasons, and I will
develop these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.
To begin with, individuals have finite amount of time to care about others, so they need to expend the time by affectionating the family members
but not animals. The more time people spend with their domesticated animal, the less time they will devote for the family members.
Therefore, other familiar people will deserve less love and care from the people who expend too much time for their pets. For example, my girlfriend
spend insufficient amount of time with me because she spends most of time by caring her cat. Hence, I feel as not cared by the girl whom I love.
If she consumes less time for her cat than how much she expends currently, I will have opportunity to be with her for a long time, which is pleasant
for both of us.
Secondly, animals cannot feel and comprehend that they are being treated as human-being, which signifies that the close communication between pets and owners
cannot be symbiotic. Most family members care for each other and their relationship is heavily based on give-and-take, which is the most important part of
communication. To be more specific, if people get in touch with domesticated animals as member of family, they will care, feed, and handle them.
However, animals are incapable of soothing and nourishing their owner. As a result of this, some individuals will be frustrated by this truth as girls
get irate when their boyfriend pay not enough attention to them.
Thirdly, every species have unique living environment, which means living as mankind by being communicated as close friends by their owners may be improper for pets.
In other words, although people feel fine while leading their pets to live as mankind, it will inappropriate for animals. For example, I have seen dogs with clothes
for many times. Their owner says that they are respecting their dogs. Nonetheless, they are unaware of that this may even have negative consequence on their pet.
Because animals have already fur to insulate their body and keep the heat, they may lose their hair because of being warmer than usual.
Finally, most animals, especially the ones people love, live shorter than people, which means possibility of facing their demise is high. If individuals
give their entire care for animal, they feel close to their pets. Thereby, death of animals will feel like demise of family members.
Hence, individuals need to circumvent this type of chance of having depression and anxiousness. Otherwise, they will be more susceptible to
emotional disorder caused by the death of pets.
In summation, I am of the opinion of that people should not treat their pets as family members although people need to be reverent to domesticated creatures.
This is because, people will start spending less time for others, and this type of relationship unavailable to beneficial for both side. Furthermore,
the lifestyle of people is not suitable for pets, and the demise of the beloved animals will be emotionally detrimental for the owner.