Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? A zoo has no useful purpose. Use specific reasons and examples to explain.

To understand zoos, we must learn how these institutions work. Zoos are very important institutions where people can learn about environmental preservation. People also learn about food chain that every living being is part of natural cycle. Besides it, zoos are also able to protect animals on the edge of extinction. Therefore, I believe that these installations should be supported rather than criticized. I will elaborate my reasons in the ensuing paragraphs.

First, zoos are one of the places where scientists can be close to a wide variety of species of animals and learn about their eating behavior, their mating habits and collect data whenever they feel like to. This way, by having a deeper knowledge about the animal, scientists can help species those are in danger. Also, the artificial fertilization technique can help animals that are on the edge of extinction.

Second, with the advancement of scientific studies and research zoo has changes compare to before. Animals are kept in larger cages and rangers try to imitate natural habitat to give animal comfort life in zoo. Their daily diet is controlled by dietitians with a balanced amount of vitamins and minerals. Moreover, research has shown, animals which live in the cage even live longer than animals that live freely in the wild. Additionally, the university students who are studying zoology, they can research on animals. And it is not possible to go to jungle frequently to collect sample. So, it is easy for students to go to zoo and research about animals. For instance, in Dubai, one of the biggest research institutes at the zoo where thousands of students can do research work on animals.

Lastly, zoos are important because visitors can learn about various species. For the new generations to be able to see animals freely in the wild, people have to protect the environment, other than destroying our remaining forest to build more human settlement and pushing animals on the edge of extinction. In zoo, children can see animals, touch them and even feed them. When I went to the Huston zoo center with my niece. At that time, we saw a withe tiger and she was so amazed by looking a white tiger. She also experiences feeding few animals.

Let’s put in a nutshell, I strongly believe that properly managed zoos provide excellent opportunities such as educational purpose, research work, fresh air or relaxation, therefore it is very useful.