Some people believe that students should be given one long vacation each year. Others believe that students should have several short vacations throughout the year. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

While many people think that it is good for students to have several short vacations and have very convincing reasons for what they think, I believe that having one long vacation is a better idea. In my opinion, each option has its advantages and disadvantages but I think the benefits of one long vacation outweigh the benefits of several short vacations. In the following paragraphs, I will try to explain my position more clearly.

First and foremost, it will provide students with a great chance to have a part-time job. They can take various jobs and obtain some money. In my country, students a have three month vacation during summer and most of them use this time for doing useful activities. For example, when I was in high school, I took a part-time job in a computer center near my house. I taught younger children how to use computer and install programs on laptops. In my point of view, it was a good opportunity for me because I got valuable experiences. Besides, I obtained some money to purchase necessary things like cloths, books and so forth.

In the second place, students will attend classes and summer schools. They can learn new lessons, skills, etc. For instance, in my country, most secondary school students prefer to go to English language classes and improve their skills in speaking a foreign language. Furthermore, some students would like to participate in sport activities. For example, one of my friends was always going to a gym and he was enjoying swimming.

Last but not least, students can have nice trips during long vacations. They can travel to other continents like Europe and visit several countries. In my point of view, having several short vacations do not allow them to go to remote areas.

Taking all the aforementioned arguments into account, it can be concluded that having a long vacation is better than several short vacations based on the reasons which I outlined above.