Some students like to work in groups with other students when doing assignments and projects. Other students prefer to work independently. Which do you prefer?

Many students can work both individually and with a group. Each approach may have some advantages and disadvantages however, generally speaking, in my vantage point, working in a group might be more rewarding to student because of different reason that I am going to address in my essay.

First, working in a group can provide a motive to study to work harder. Many students feel bored when they study on their own, therefore, they might have too many breaks, skip some important material, and be demotivated. Although working in a group has some disadvantages, it is far better than working individually in terms of student's motivation. In fact, if the group is homogeneous, and all group members are interested to learn, they can benefit a lot from group work. For example, during my preparation for the toefl exam, I met few neighbors who were preparing for the same exam. Similarly, they were looking for assistance. Therefore, we have agreed to work together as a group inorder to help each other to pass. Thus, I was able to get lots of support by working this way.

Secondly, working in groups can save time. There are moments when a person cannot understand a point, or the information might not be so clear. If a person does not have assistance from others, it might take him a long time to get the idea. Therefore, instead of passing the exam in a couple of months, it might take years. Thus, by working as a group, a person can overcome many difficulties, become aware of his or her weakness and strength, and finish on time.

Although the aforementioned reasons are the first to cross my mind, they are by no means the only reasons available. In fact, there is another subtle reason, which is the noteworthy, astonishingly results of a study which was published in the American educational Journal, which concluded that students working in a groups are able to accomplish results more confidently, and are able to ask for assistance when they are most in need for it. The study was conducted on 120 students from different school inorder to prevent bias.

To wrap up, contemplating the aforementioned reasons one realizes the importance of working in groups. By giving the chance to students to work this way, we do not only enhances their confidence in themselves, but we also provide them with a tool that help them to succeed in the future.