Some young adults want independence from their parents as soon as possible.Other young adults prefer to live with their families for a longer time.Which of these situations do you think is better?

When we reach adulthood, We're faced with an unavoidable question: should we move out as soon as possible, or should we stay for a little while longer? Some might prefer to live with family, while others might prefer to live alone. I think we should move out as early as possible. In the following essay, I will attempt to demonstrate why I hold this belief.

Firstly, living independently from one’s own parents early on prepares the individual for life’s problems at an earlier age, making them more equipped to deal with more serious real-world issues when they inevitably appear later in life. To list an example from my own personal experience, I was tasked with picking my first apartment. This was a daunting task for 22 year old me. I ended up picking an apartment that I liked visually, instead of focusing on the practical aspects of it; The apartment’s living room walls were windows, which made it very hot in the summer. I have since learned from this mistake. Luckily, the apartment’s a rental, and didn’t cost much. In the future, when I decide to buy a real apartment, I will know not to pick one with glass walls.

Secondly, living on one’s own offers a sort of freedom that living with one’s parents does not. For instance, my parents disapprove of any risky activity which might result in me getting physically hurt. Had I lived with them, they would never allow me to learn how to skateboard. Living alone gives me the freedom to pursue this hobby. Another example is painting; my parents never believed I could paint and went as far as telling me I shouldn’t do it because it’s a waste of time. I disagree. When I lived with my parents, I couldn’t paint. Now, after moving out, I can paint all day and there’s no one around to stop me from following my dreams.

Understandably, there are some people who choose to stay with their parents for a longer period of time. It’s easier to save money this way, especially if the individual has a job, there’s more disposable income and you get to enjoy home-cooked meals everyday.

In conclusion, when faced with the decision to stay for a little while longer to leave as soon as possible, I pick the latter. The decision to move out early prepares the young adult to the outside world and gives them the chance to express themselves without the confines of parent permissions.