Some young people are free in the evenings or have days off at school, which way can bring them the most benefit?

1- To accumulate work experience by a part-time job or volunteering in a community

2-Learning to play a sport

3- Learning to play a musical instrument

There is a lot of debate about how students could use their free time more efficiently. Some people believe young people should attend entertainment courses like sport or musical classes. On the other hand, others believe students should do a part-time job or volunteering in a community. I believe part-time jobs and volunteering activities could be more helpful for students because they would prepare for their future life and learn how to live independently; moreover, volunteering in a community let them feel more relax. I will illustrate my reasons in the following paragraphs.

First of all, part-time jobs help students to learn how to live independently because they would understand how difficult it is earning money. Moreover, they will have some money which they earned it so hard. Thus, they will try to spend it in the right way. On the other hand, the students who attend sports classes or musical classes instead of doing part-time jobs would always be dependent on their parents to give them money until they grow up. Consequently, at that time, they should look for job and become independent without any preparation from before. For example, when I was a kid, my brother worked with my father in his days off. Although he could have done more entertainment activities, he felt great because he was independent in comparison to his classmates. Therefore, as he grew up, he prepared more for his future.

Second, helping other people in a way that you like leads to be happier and feel your mind get relieved. In other words, volunteering in a community means you like that community and enjoy to be there. Thus, as a result of this happiness, your productivity will increase which can ensure more success in the other activities. For instance, when I was a student, I decided to attend a voluntary environmental group that helps to clean the environment by peaking up trashes. Indeed, it was fun and moreover, it made me feel positive about myself. As a result of this feeling, I attended my classes with a relieved mind which led to an increase in my productivity in learning new things. Hence, it helped me to get better grades that semester.

Based on the aforementioned reasons, it can be concluded that doing a part-time job or volunteering in a community would be more helpful for young people to do in their free time.