Some young people take free time to do various activities, while others focus only on one activity. Which do you prefer?

As two states in personal development, 'concentrated training' and 'well-rounded experience' is a persistent dialectic in consideration of activity options, reflecting the deep structural ambivalence in contemporary society. Whilst considerable attention has been given to the role of specializing in one activity, deep engagement leads impressionable people to generate their opinions that adolescents should divert their spare time to merely one activity. However, such a statement suffers from both logical and factual fallacies in the modern context and should be scrutinized meticulously. As far as diversity, broader social relationships, and the virtuous circle it may form, I strongly hold that juveniles should give their priority to assorted activities in this social-driven universe.

What must be prioritized is that diverse activities instill young people a wider range of comprehensive horizons and alter every facet of life. To be more specific, in such an increasingly interconnected world, today's young people engage in communication with whose from different cultures and traditions, which leads them to entertain bolder visions that merely the control of academic knowledge. For example, participating in the English corner or German Beer Festival not only exhibit them unique traditions from different regions, but insist students to grasp how to respect people holding multiple viewpoints. Not to mention that surfing or hiking will absolutely trigger thorough mastery of people and nature, and apply abstract knowledge into practice. Moreover, let's don't forget that we are living in a society that has been overvaluing scientism and downgrading or stealing the limelight from artistically successful, visiting the modern art museum on a regular basis could expose scientifically-minded students to the environment surrounded by ancient paintings, sculptures, and exotic cultures, enhancing an appreciation of beauty.

What is equally worth discussing is that lavish hobbies would definitely extend the young generation's circle of new acquaintances in the real world, paving a solid way for their future life. Granted, switching into one after one different activities means all people and environment are so unpredictable and so unfamiliar that it would take the youth a while to get into the swing of things. However, thinking in terms of the fantastic outcome, it is also perfect timing for them to become acquainted with one another, and even rub shoulders with some of them. Considering young generations will inevitably bump into various obstacles, such as tough examinations, demanding professors, or overwhelming workload, maintaining connections with friends across a wide range of age, profession, gender, and even social-economic status will give them a helping hand at unexpected times.

Nevertheless, a voice arises that one skillful activity enables young people to rank higher in the corresponding field and thus strengthen their confidence. Ironically, it may sound reasonable at first glance, but if you take a closer look, overwhelmed by endless comparisons and self-assessments, juveniles' mentality will be exerted a negative impact, which may dampen their psychological strain. Contrary to this mentally healthy issue, engaging in wonderfully diverse activities could reduce the injuries of a single evaluation system and make them believe that the world is multidimensional and non-linear, and they themselves are three-dimensional and dynamically changing. There is no need to be exhausted with subjectively setting themselves in just one stable circumstance. Therefore, the more diverse activities, the better mental health will be maintained.