Teachers have many options when it comes to improving their students’ academic achievements: they can give them a test, assign a research project, have them deliver a group presentation, or have them write essays. Which of these options do you think is the most effective?

Having a solid academic status and shining as a student is a promising step into a world of opportunities as long as it is accompanied by a strong will and desire for prosperity among other students and peers. The controversial question which arises here is that how teachers can assist pupils in achieving these goals as efficaciously as possible. From my point of view, forcing trainees to deliver a group presentation can offer a variety of benefits that cannot be easily overlooked. Two convincing reasons are discovered below.

First of all, by accomplishing a group presentation, students would gain success through teamwork. As a matter of fact, each pupil should learn collaboration with their classmates and be trained to adapt to new ideas in a team. In other words, a group presentation is a great chance for learners to develop their brains with the help of working with others. Consistent with this, I remember when I was a high school girl, my teacher divided students into many three-member-groups to deliver an oral group presentation for the philosophy class. As I was an introverted person and had no inclination to talk to others, it was somewhat difficult for me to match with my group members to accomplish the presentation. After two meetings, however, I could adjust myself to prepare the presentation and learn how to talk to my group mates about my points of view readily. In fact, that oral group presentation led me to try to work with other people who had the same duties as me. Had it not been for our tutor's request to deliver a group presentation, I could not have learned to work with a team and comfort about making team decisions.

Secondly, another remarkable fact is that a group presentation pursues students to look at different topics from other students' perspectives. In this line of thought, pupils can reach a deeper understanding of how things work since others in a group might have various ideas about different subjects. Trainees, therefore, can broaden their horizons. For instance, let's back to my experience as a high school girl. Starting to work on the presentation, I tried to pay attention to others' opinions and compare their ideas with mine. As a result, in the due date of the presentation, I understood that although I was not totally an expert in philosophy subjects, I had broad knowledge and invaluable information about the topic, and I could efficiently deliver a perfect presentation. Contemplating my personal experience, I can conclude that merely that group presentation helped me become familiar with various opinions and ideas, which were extremely advantageous for me to improve my academic performance.

As outlined above, in order to learn how teamwork works and consider other students' precious opinions, instructors must encourage students to deliver a group presentation to have an effective teaching style.