Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them. Agree/Disagree

Since the emergence of modern technology, the very intrinsic nature of recreational activities has been changed. Computer gaming is one of the embodiments of modern entertainment. In this vein, there has been always a heated controversy when it comes to the pros and cons of computer games considering children. Some are of the opinion that playing computer games should be prohibited since it wastes kids' valuable time, whereas, personally , I believe otherwise. The chief reasons to substantiate my viewpoint are elaborated upon hereunder.

First and foremost, playing computer games could completely lead children to a promising and glorious career, which self-evidently will bring about wealth and prosperity. To illustrate, owing to the utilizing fantasy and virtual reality by these games, the kids’ imagination and ingenuity would blossom to its full potential. To be more specific, observing different novel ideas through characters and exciting situations in these games, kids will create some associations in their mind, which they will employ to incorporate them with their own ideas, and finally make their own video games. Undoubtedly, the market of creating computer games is one of the most lucrative ones in the sphere of the entertainment business. My personal experience is convincing in this regard. When I was a very young kid, I was an authentic video-game aficionado. My enthusiasm had been fired by these games. My parents used to blame me as they believed that I was wasting my precious time. However, as time goes by, a great number of stunning ideas kept striking to my mind about how to create an amazing game. Long story short, I succeeded to create my first game, bringing about an avalanche of money to my bank account. Unequivocally, not labeling playing computer games a waste of time, if one know how money-making it could be. Hence, kids should be allowed to be enchanted with these games.

Second, so far-reaching is the outstanding impact of computer games on mental health and life skills, contributing to a positive lifestyle that one cannot afford to treat it lightly. There is a swarm of indispensable factors in this matter, which I will explore some significant ones. First, as most of these games require group making, children could hone their vital social skills, such as cooperation, leadership, social intercourse, and making friends by virtue of playing computer games with various people having distinct personalities all around the world. Furthermore, nowadays children are under the overwhelming pressure of schools and families, which they can devote some time to play games as an excellent means of relaxation and enjoyment. As a result, their soul and mind will be always refreshed and ready to deal with the vicissitudes of modern life, which is a recipe for being hale and healthy psychologically. Having said that, hardly could anyone assert that playing computer games is a waste of time. Instead of banning children from playing computer games, they should be encouraged to playing them to a reasonable extent.

To recapitulate, with all this taken into account, I have a dominant conviction that the merits of computer games for children outweigh its demerits and they should not be forbidden from playing as it is not a waste of time. Playing computer games contributes to not only flourishing their future career but a healthy lifestyle as well.