TOEFL essay:Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? There is nothing that young people can teach older people. Use specific reasons and details to support your opinion.

It is an undeniable fact that learning is a never-ending process, people can learn at any age of life. Elder people have more knowledge and real life experiences; however, it is not true that there is nothing that younger people can teach older people. I disagree with the statement for the several reasons.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that youngsters are more talented, creative, optimistic, enthusiastic and knowledgeable. Indeed, younger people spend majority of time in schools, libraries, in front of computers and with friends so they gather handful of new information. Whereas, older people are time bound as they have several things to do for living and do not have time to learn from the outside sources. In this scenario, a younger person can share information with elders. For instance, few days back, my fifteen years old nephew came across a new information of H1N1 virus like how this virus spread infection in the communities and it causes deadly disease. Grandparents were not aware about this kind of new virus, hence, my nephew explained him how to take care of our self by avoiding exposure to the public places, and he shared knowledge about signs and symptoms of the virus.

Another reason that deserves some words is that youngsters are more technologically advanced and quick learners. Apparently, elders prefer to stick with their old habits and old ways of doing work. Youngsters can teach elder people how to do quick and efficient work with new technology and can save ample of time. Few years back, when I was twelve years old, my father was doing all calculation of his business in to the manual calculator and it took him hours to complete it. One day, I taught him how to use a Microsoft Excel to complete all math work with high accuracy. In the beginning, he became confused a lot, but eventually he learned it. Moreover, I always see teenager students teaching smartphones to their parents. Therefore, older people cannot beat youngsters in the technological usage.

Finally, younger people are open-minded and can easily adopt new culture and environment. In the mold-able and fragile age, youngsters can adopt any new style and fashion. In contrast, the older people are very narrow-minded and easily cannot accept new ways of life. Actually, elders have orthodox thinking, which resist them to adopt new things, which is very different from their own culture. A vivid example can be given to shed light on the subject is my own experience. In my country India, older people do not believe in inter-cast love marriage and believe its opposite of our religion believes. Thus, elders should learn moral values from youngers.

To warp up, I firmly believe that there are several things, which can be taught by youngsters to older people like new information, technology usage and moral values.