TOEFL essay:When people succeed, it is because of hard work, Luck has nothing to do with success.” Do you agree or disagree with the quotation above? Use specific and examples to explain your position.

Everybody wants to achieve success in the market environment. However there is no agreement about the importance of luck in achieving success since there is people who thinks that luck is important while others believe that this element has no relation with achieving success. Personally, I understand that luck is also important because there is a series of factors in our lives that are not only guided by rational aspects and hard work.

Some might say that been successful has no relation with been lucky. In this context, there is a speech that says people needs to work hard to achieve a great career and nothing comes easy. The idea that luck could also be important in someone's career is considered unfair since it might be considered a way to reduce and ignore the efforts that someone had to achieve an excellence level in his career. Besides, many people consider luck as an element used by lazy people or persons that failed in their professional objectives and used luck as some sort of excuse.

While the above perspective might have good arguments, the perspective stated is not convincing. One needs to consider that people are effected by a series of random facts that are not possible to be completely controlled. In this sense, luck has a influential role in everybody's career even considering that this aspect in general is not the most important one since hard work makes the whole difference in becoming successful.

Recently, David Letterman interviewed the former president of the United States, Barack Obama. Obama surprised everybody when he declared that even been someone that worked hard trough his career he considers himself a lucky person that was able to occupy the Oval Office. Letterman, also a person very successful in his career, declared that he felt that luck was a factor present in his entire professional life too. When we listen two persons that achieve a high level of success like Obama and Letterman saying that luck had a considerable role in their careers we see that this element can make a big difference in any field of work.

In conclusion, we can say that luck is connected with success. This element could not be considered the major aspect in becoming successful since hard work is truly necessary and in general the most important element. However, we cannot forget that random facts could have influence in our lives.