“Over the past year, our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of l

The business manager of the television station argues that in order to have an increase in the levels of sponsorhip and audience it's necessary to spend more time of the late-night news program covering local news and weather forecast. This assumption should be better analyzed for some reasons.

Firstly, the segment of the audience that have been complaining about the lack of local news and weather forecast in the program might be not that big. If there is a segment of the audience that is composed by old people, then this segment could be not happy with the amount of time dedicated to that types of news. In this context, since elders have problems to access this kind of news from other sources this can generate complaints from them. However, this is not enough to conclude that the reduction in the audience is related to the reduced time of the program that is dedicated to local news and weather. If the minority of the audience is composed by elders, it's possible to wait many complaints from them, but they still remains as a small segment of the audience.

Secondly, it should be analyzed the way that the program works. Late-night viewers are people that are tired after a work day and in general this kind of audience wants to watch the news in a relaxed way and without have to make too much mental efforts. If the late-night news program has a new anchor and he is considered not able to transmit information in a good manner, then audience might not be very receptive to the program. At the same time, the news could be considered very long and the reporters could be considered boring and with no carisma, which could have bad impacts in the audience and quality of the program.

Finally, it should be considered the others television stations programs. If a new talk show program started to be broadcasted by a TV Channel that is an adversary of the television station, than this talk show program might be more interesting for late-night audience. In this sense, local sponsors could be more attracted by spend money advertesing in the other TV Channel. Also the audience might be more pleased with the content from the other program.

Thus, the assumption made by the business manager could be considered reckless. In order to make the statement of the business manager more feasible, it's necessary to consider the impact to the audience of people complaining about the lack of more time to local news and weather forecast in the program. It's also important to consider the quality of the contents the program has and the quality and carisma of people working on it. Finally, it would be necessary to better analyze how competitive is the program towards other television states in attracting the viewers attention.