The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College."To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current

The assumption made by the director of student housing is related with the necessity to build new dormitories at Buckingham College. This assumption should be reviewed for some reasons.

Firstly, a better attention should be given to the research that states that levels in the amount of students that might enroll Buckingham College will increase in the next decades. The problem is that the memo is making a projection for the next 50 years based in the current levels of enrollment at the college. This might be a dangerous sort of projection since it forsakes past years levels of enrollment resulting in a narrow projection that will be considered as a reference for a huge investment which will impact the college for many decades ahead.

Secondly, the reasons why off-campus apartment has increased rent prices should be investigated. For instance, students might be renting these apartments more frequently resulting in more investments and demand for these places and as a consequence the prices could be higher. In this scenario, even considering the higher rent prices students might prefer to share rents in off-campus abodes that could be next to places they like or next to places that offer better services than the college campus which might involve services like gym, coffee shops and other ones.

Finally, the impacts of this sort of investment should be carefully analyzed. Raising the quantities of dormitories means spend a lot of money in the housing section of the college and this can impact in aspects such as the college fees and budget. If the Buckingham College would need to increase the tuition fees in order to recovery the investment made in the dormitories or if the college drop investments in other areas such as library and laboratories to build more dormitories, than this investments in housing might have negative impacts in the college, resulting in less people interested in study at Buckingham’s.

In conclusion, the statements made in the memo should be better analyzed in order to be sure about such an important investment. To reinforce the argument made in the memo it’s necessary to make a broader research about the amount of people interested in studying at this college in the next decades. Also, the reasons why off-campus apartment are facing a price increase should be reviewed in order to know exactly what is causing this rise; finally, the impacts this kind of investment can have in Buckingham College as a whole should be better evaluated.