Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position

The possibility to preserve remaining elements from wild is a question very discussed since it raises doubts between keep protecting these fragile environments or explore the areas when they can offer economic gains. Even considering the possibility that this nature remaining might be substituted by a profitable business it’s important to keep protecting such environments.

It’s possible that someone would see as a better option to explore for economic gains spaces that still have wild animal and plants but that were reduced to small areas. In general, these places are islands among urban areas and they could be very profitable if they were not protected by laws and the government itself. Many people that defend this type of exploration comprehends that land would be more useful if it wasn’t protected by environmental laws, since the land could be used to construct buildings that can create jobs and boost the economical dynamic of the area.

However, this vision could be considered mistaken for some reasons. Firstly, it’s very important to protect remaining nature, since these areas are still the home of many species of animal and plants. Government should resist the pressure of lobbies that what to use such spaces for economical gains. The example of the so called “Atlantic Florest” in Brazil is very illustrative of how important is to preserve wilderness in near by urban zones. The Atlantic Forest used to be in almost the whole Brazilian coastal zone, but the exploration of it resulted in only some remaining of this Forest next to cities such as Sao Paulo and Rio de Janeiro. After pressure from many elements of society the rest of this forest were considered protected by environmental law which resulted in improvement in the populations of some endangered species of monkeys that only lived in this place. Since the Atlantic Forest surrounds important urban areas it was not easy to resist the pressure from many companies that wanted to explore these lands to construct buildings, but government and activists were able to protect the forest and helped in the slow recovery of this natural space.

In many other countries, natural spaces have been preserved and protected over economic interest, specially in developed countries where this kind of areas became a precious zone where it is still possible to feel and see the wilderness that were damaged and reduced by industrial exploration. If governments were not able to preserve and to enforce companies and societies to take care of these place, probably we were facing a more severe problem with environment in Earth. Moreover, the quality of life would be very reduced since people would not have green spaces anymore which could increase problems with whether and result in more animal menaced to be extinct from wilderness.

In conclusion, one can see the importance of governments protecting the wilderness, if considering that these spaces might be small or profitable zones for business. In this context, nations should in preserve wilderness, otherwise the lack of attention to these species could backfire in nations itself, since the society might lose quality of life.