Do you agree or disagree with the following statements People should always tell the truth Always telling the truth is the important consideration in any relationship Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion

It's not easy to define whether remain always honest about things in life or not. This has been a classic discussion that raises no agreement between people. Some say that it's necessary to always tell the truth even if it might make difficult life in society while others believe some lies are necessary in life. Personally, I include myself in the second group of people since some lies are necessary in our relationship within society.

Some might say that it's necessary to always be honest about everything. In this sense, to be always honest means construct confidence among people where one can rely in another person. With the construction of a circle of trust people inside of it feels comfortable to tell truth and to deal with the consequences of it. When there is confidence, people also will be able to overcome negative consequences that honest can generates. In this sense, many people would say that is better to be honest even when telling the truth might hurt someone.

While this perspective might have fair arguments, it's important to consider that relationships in general rely in "white lies", smalls lies where people tend to avoid enter in a conflict with someone. This sorts of lie don't tend to prejudice someone, it's just a resource used to avoid small conflicts. For instance, a coworker might have a bad taste for what he wears in the work environment and at the same time this person might share his tastes about clothes thinking that he is really respected for it when he is not. To be honest in this sense would mean to express a personal opinion to this person that might result in a unnecessary conflict.

It's important to make clear that lies are not health when used to fool someone and when used for criminal purposes. In this sense, what it's important to perceive is that honest is extremely important but sometimes we might hurt someone with an avoidable and insignificant truth. People might have their confidence destroyed without necessity just because someone decided to state "truths" about this person. In general, many moments of tension amongst people results in people saying offenses to each other based in what they truly think about the other person. Thus, to be always honest is not always good.

In conclusion, one can affirm that some lies are necessary to make life more pleasant. Lies might be necessary when we want to avoid unnecessary tensions and discussions within a group. Moreover, sometimes truth is used only to hurt someone but with the excuse that to be honest is something always necessary. To tell the truth is something extremely important, but sometimes we might use "small lies" to avoid small problems.